Posted by: SimpleIntention | February 8, 2013

Sam, You Have Been Served

Two weeks ago, an Elder at our church filled in for our Pastor while she was out of town. Sam acknowledged that he was humbled to be filling in, he worked very hard to balance following his prepared sermon and making eye contact, and he tentatively made it through his task. But a strange thing happened. As I listened to Sam, I was struck by the depth of his commitment, I was touched by his words of action in what we are called to be, and in a brand new way my thought was, “THIS is what we are called be. THIS is why we demonstrate and proclaim God’s unconditional love!” I left church feeling energized and faithful. I also made a mental note to write Sam that day to tell him how meaningful that sermon was to me. Did I mention that this took place two weeks ago?

Some of my very best intentions…my simple intentions…go unfulfilled. Sometimes it is because I let the intention slip away from me and it feels like too much time has gone by to recapture it. Sometimes it is because I attempt an action and it falls short of what my intention was. Sometimes it is because the situation changes and I INTENTIONALLY change my intention. For whatever the reason my simple intention often goes undone.

But this post is about action.  Several weeks ago, at the prompting of friends and family, I made steps to open a business. There was a lot of opportunity to be too busy. There was enough fear to tell myself it wasn’t worth the risk.  But my intention was not just a whim. I have been working towards praying for clarity on decisions. I don’t always have the answers, but I know that my source will. 1 Corinthians 2:9 says, But as it is written, “what no eye has seen, nor ear heard, nor heart of man imagined, what God has prepared for those who love him-“. If I am faithful; if I follow the clarity that is provided, then my intentions will coincide with my journey.

The first week of business has surpassed my expectations.  I didn’t let perfection get in the way of progress. I didn’t let time or excuses deter me. When my intention is faithful, simple and beautiful things happen. And how do I know when my intent is faithful? I find the answer in a variety of ways…and sometimes it comes from the words of an Elder being faithful to his own call. Thank you, Sam. You have been served.


Leave a comment

Categories